Watch Google I/O 2016 in Virtual Reality

It really is the year of VR.

Google

At 3AM AEST tomorrow morning, Google will hold I/O, their famous developer conference. Remember how 2016 was going to be the year of VR, well Google are getting on-board with the announcement they’ll live stream the I/O keynote in 360 degrees, allowing VR owners to experience the event in an immersive experience that makes you feel like you’re there.

Of course real attendees often walk away with some slick hardware, so that’s something currently lacking with VR, but that aside, this I/O should be a cracker.

To experience the keynote in VR, check out the YouTube stream below from a supported device (like Cardboard). I’ll be trying it out form the Samsung GearVR. It will however make it hard to tweet cute quick barbs at Google.

Expected at this year’s I/O conference is news about a full VR solution from Google. With the success of VR products like Oculus Rift and the HTC Vive and even upcoming products like PlayStation VR, then Cardboard isn’t really a serious entrant in this market.

Google is also likely to discuss the next Android release, Android N, which has now become a staple at the conference. Android N has been in developer preview for some time now, but the release is still restricted to a really limited number of devices, namely their own Nexus line.

10295376_10152598183792690_5207088671500140625_o

If you’re into watching the Google announcements live, then you may be in for an early rise. “Ok Google, set alarm for 3AM”.

  • Honolulu: 7 a.m. HST
  • San Francisco: 10 a.m. PDT
  • Denver: 11 a.m. MDT
  • Chicago: noon CDT
  • New York 1 p.m. EDT
  • London: 6 p.m.
  • Paris: 7 p.m.
  • Amsterdam: 7 p.m.
  • Moscow: 8 p.m.
  • Mumbai: 10:30 p.m.
  • Beijing: 1 a.m. (Thursday)
  • Seoul: 2 a.m. (Thursday)
  • Sydney: 3 a.m. (Thursday)

Categories
ARVRGoogleGoogleIO